Lisa Lee – Sound Universe

LisaLee

LISA LEE

Sound Universe

MFA Digital Art Thesis Exhibition
Reception: Mon, Jan 27th, 5-8PM
On View: Jan 28-Jan 31
Pratt DDA Gallery
200 Willoughby Ave, Myrtle Hall, Fl 4

ARTIST STATEMENT
Ever since I was a kid, I have been obsessed by space related science fiction, and have enjoyed visualizing that with the most powerful graphic chip—my brain. I appreciated the beauty of build-ing imaginary worlds upon solid scientific facts and hypothesis. At the time when I finally started to watch science fiction movies and TV, I was upset a lot by the fact that scientific accuracy is discarded in favor of entertainment value. So I came up the idea to create my own version of an organic and continuous science fiction world. A documentary film about Hubble telescope gave me a lot of inspiration. I found myself deeply touched by the 3d rendered animation of the universe after knowing it was strictly based on the data from Hubble.An astronomer friend, Yao Song, provided me some universe spectrum data, which I used to then create a whole audio-visual experience. Much of the effort was put into using only audio sonified from data to arouse audience’s sensation about universe, and how the sensation affects the audience. I intend to draw the audience’s attention to the beauty of the space above their heads in philosophical, poetic and scientific ways; to discuss the boundary of consciousness and uncon-sciousness; to raise the question of whether human beings’ observation creates the universe or are we the result of universe’s observation?

BIO
Jiachun (Lisa) Li is a Chinese artist based in Brooklyn, New York. After receiving her bachelor’s degree in Multimedia Design at Beijing Institute of Graphic Communication, she is now pursuing her MFA in Digital Arts at Pratt Institute. She is currently focusing on interactive sound installation and interactive sound performance

Leave a Reply

